I’m going to try not to over-analyze that “How to tell me my book stinks” has been my post with the most hits.  That was a week ago, and it’s time to move on.

This week has whizzed by in a blur of camping, toddler teething, wine drinking, laundry, reading, shopping, packing, and planning for upcoming SCBWI WWA happenings.  Oh, and writing.  Lotsa writing.

In the dead of the night, I’ve been busy with manuscript revisions.  The more I revise, the more work I create for myself with big changes to the plot.  I feel like I’m practically back to square one. I thought I would polish up the piece I sent down to L.A. for a manuscript consultation, but the more I dig into it the more obvious it is how far it is from presenting to anyone.  Sigh.

I read Theodosia and the Serpents of Chaos by Robin LaFevers.  The first in a promising new series, Theodosia is like Indiana Jones if Indiana was a young English girl.  I’m looking forward to the next book, that should be out in the fall.

 

I am also looking forward to the sequel to Jellaby by Kean Soo.  Great, unique graphic novel that has great illustration layouts and broad appeal.  It was originally published as a webcomic that you can see at the Secret Friend Society.  What happens next?

Do you like papercuts?  The nonpainful, artistic, kind?  Then go to Beatrice Coron’s site here.  Beautiful, no? Thanks to Crooked House for the link.

The fall kid lit focused Publisher’s Weekly is out now.  You can see a bit here.  I went to pick one up at a local bookstore with an extensive periodical section and they said they didn’t carry Publishers Weekly.  They said it was too “special interest.”  Books?  Apparently there is more call for info on modern northwest dogs or extreme canoe-ers.  Who knew?

Stephen Barbara mentioned at the last regional conference that he was seeing a big trend of manuscripts with dystopian post-apocalyptic settings.  Newsweek looks into it.

Betsy Bird made a post a few days ago that was awesome in many ways.  Cute baby animals AND a discussion on the lack of non-dysfunctional working class characters in children’s literature.  Plus, some other stuff.  

 

Tomorrow at this time I will be boarding a plane to head for sunny L.A. for my first ever SCBWI International Annual Summer Conference. I am so jazzed!  I’ll try and blog a little bit while I’m down there.  

Off to pack!

