Maurice Sendak- not really a people person, but a good secret keeper .

Yuyi Morales made a book trailer out of the lovely presentation she gave at the Golden Kite Awards Ceremony last month in L.A. (via Cynsations).  

There’s a new Notes from the Hornbook available.  You can sign up to have new notes straight to your email. 

In other Horn Book news, Roger Sutton points out that the Palin banned books list is false.  Phew! I’m still not voting for her.

Are you a writer or illustrator who gets hassled on the streets by your legions of adoring fans when you just want to duck out for a donut?  I may have the solution (via Craft blog).

 

 

 

 

Speaking of craftiness, Heather Ross has a new fabric line that makes me want to write stories about mermaids. I like the aqua best, but I couldn’t get a good shot of it.  I bought a bunch, but I don’t know what I’ll make with it yet.  Perhaps something for the shed.

 

 

Kidlitosphere is a mere two weeks away!

Ok, here are some before shots of the site of my studio-to-be.

Day one:

 

The back fence is being rebuilt as well, in case you were worried that a squirrel might push it over.

The back fence is being rebuilt as well, in case you were worried that a squirrel might push it over.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Day two, a few pieces arrive:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Day three- even more pieces!:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Today the contractor emailed to say that nothing was left to deconstruct but the base, and that my office to be is a marvel of shed strength.  They say it’s taking longer than expected, but it should still be done within the week.  The roof couldn’t be reused, so I’m going to ask them about an extensive green roof.  

I’ll post some more shots later as progress is made.

