I have been double tagged.  Holly and Jolie each tagged me to share writing quirks and personality traits.  So, here you go:

Writing quirks

1.  I have to warm up before I write.  If I’m on the computer, I’ll browse around the internet for about an hour.  This sounds like procrastination, but really it’s not.  My brain waves just need to get into the zone.  I’ll open my work-in-progress, and work on it in little bits between reading blogs, researching other projects, emailing, facebook…  Then my brain clicks and I can get fully into the manuscript.  

2.  I write late at night while my family is sleeping.  Right now I’m working on the couch, but soon I’ll be traipsing through the dark to the shed.

3.  I have a lemon of a Mac.  The “Genius Bar” hasn’t been able to wrap their heads around fixing or replacing my computer, despite numerous visits.  I was considering making the switch back to a PC.  I’ve started using Scrivener (awesome writing software only for Macs), and I’ve grown much more tolerant.  What’s the big deal with crashing and lap burning when I can organize chapters so sweetly?

4.  I let my husband read the beginning of an early draft- and then he’s cut off.  I’ll let him read the whole thing when I feel it’s nice and cohesive.  He’s been waiting for a while on this one, and he’s impatient.  I think that’s a good sign.

5.  Since I’ve been involved with SCBWI, I’ve become acquainted with a few editors and agents.  It’s a blessing and a curse.  I have a much better sense of who might appreciate my manuscript and be fun to work with, but the lack of submission anonymity makes me more self-conscious and hesitant to send out my stuff.  Neurotic, but true.

6.  Do I have one more quirk?  Hmm, let me think.  Ok- here’s one:  The deeper I get into a project, the more ideas I have for other projects.  Then, I want to start those.  You could call this self-sabotage, but I think it’s just the creative juices flowing.

Jolie tagged me for another thing a couple of weeks ago that I haven’t had a chance to get to yet.  I’ll answer those, and then we’ll just be done with the tags for a while, shall we?

Personality questions

1. What are your nicknames? 

Sparky LaRoux.  Oh…nicknames?  I thought you said stage names.  No nicknames.

2. What was the first movie you bought in VHS or DVD?

The Goonies

3. What is your favorite scent?
It’s kind of seasonal.  Roasting chile, lilacs, earth, garlic.

4. What one place have you visited that you can’t forget and want to go back to?

One place?  Geesh.  I’ve been thinking about Scotland a lot lately. I feel like being in Edinburgh.  The last time I was in the U.K. was pre-kids.  It’s time for a trip!

5. Do you trust easily?
Noooooo.  Not at all.

6. Do you generally think before you act, or act before you think?
I seem to bounce back and forth, without falling upon a reasonable balance.

7. Is there anything that has made you unhappy these days?
That my shed isn’t finished.  Arrrrrgh.  And the election.  Come on, November!

8. Do you have a good body image?
God, no.

9. What is your favorite fruit?
Peaches 

10. What websites do you visit daily?
Google reader, Facebook, Apartment Therapy, Craft

11. What have you been seriously addicted to lately?

Shed conversion/office organization.  Reading Kidlitosphere blog reports.  Salads with greens, kidney beans and artichoke hearts.  Yum.

12. What kind of person do you think the person who tagged you is?
She is helpful, glamorous, fit, creative, and fun.  She is an inspiration!

13. What’s the last song that got stuck in your head?

“On the Radio” by Donna Summer

14. What’s your favorite item of clothing?
Yoga pants and a sweatshirt.  The perks of working from home.

15. Do you think Rice Krispies are yummy?
Sure.

16. What would you do if you saw $100 lying on the ground?
It depends on where I found it. That might give me a clue as to how it was lost.  I’ve been known to lose money, and I know how rotten it feels.  I might keep a twenty, but if I found a big amount that couldn’t be returned I’d probably donate it to charity and turn the loss into something good. This makes me sound new agey, doesn’t it?

17. What items could you not go without during the day?
My computer, pens, paper, calendar, coffee…

18. What should you be doing right now?
Finding the baggie of screws to assemble my kid’s bookcase.  It’s been unassembled since we moved.  In December.

There you go!  I’m going to bed.  Toodles!

