A week and a day without a post?  Good grief.  Do you know why?  Because I said I would post shed pictures next time I blogged.  I haven’t been able to find the camera cable (A wifi memory card is on the top of my Christmas list), so I’ve been putting off posting.  Silly, huh? The good news is my parents are visiting next week so right now we’re CLEANING.  I should be finding the cable at any minute.

Where have I been?

I have been finishing my draft in the shed of solitude.  Woohoo!

I’ve been to an M.T. Anderson reading.  He’s an excellent speaker.  His writing isn’t too shabby either, is it?  He read a bit from Feed, and then some from the first Octavian Nothing.  The voice in each novel is distinct, and his actual voice changed as he read them.  I was going to have him sign a book for a blog  give away, but I got distracted and he just signed it to Kim (me), and you don’t want that, do you?

I’ve been cleaning.

I registered for the SCBWI Winter Conference in New York.

I have been celebrating the election.  Things went well for Washington, and very well for our nation (In my humble opinion).  We liberals have been kicked around a lot lately, so I’ve been walking around in a state of shock and awe.  Things went the way I hoped, rather than the way that truly perplexes me.  Things in California…well.  That’s the hair in the cake.  My heart aches for those whose marriages have been questioned and unacknowledged.  But, I don’t think it’s over. Fight back!  I think Melissa Etheridge is on to something with the no taxation without representation.

theostaff

I have been commenting on other people’s blogs.  While some of us mostly just had silly fun at the Kidlitosphere conference, others were banding together to blog the vote and now Lee Wind and MotherReader have issued a comment challenge to strengthen the kid lit blog community.  Comments rock, and everyone loves getting them.  I’m taking the challenge.  Are you?  Reading blogs can feel a little voyeuristic, but we have stat counters that tell us when we have visitors.  We know you’re here, and it’s ok.  Say hi!

I’ve been reading a few good books.  One that stands out is  R.L. LaFevers new Theodosia and the Staff of Osiris.  I thought Theodosia and the Serpents of Chaos was well done, and the sequel didn’t disappoint.  One reviewer compared Theodosia to a cross between Indiana Jones and a young, British Nancy Drew.  Spot on!

 

AND, I’ve been trying to make myself a website.  All the formatting is a bit tedious, but hopefully I’ll have it up soon.

Back to the cleaning.  Everything will be so organized and nice after their visit!  I’ll be back soon, with or without pictures.

