Big A little a starts a blog tour of interviews with Judy Blume.

Through the Tollbooth has a great post on Showing vs. Telling.  They say that if you’re buried in the slush, you’re probably doing a lot of telling.  I’m a teller. For example, I just told you I’m a teller.  If you read my blog, I’ve probably showed you, too. sigh.

Editorial Anonymous examines the synopsis.

I have had a $50 gift certificate to Elliott Bay Book Company for seven months.  I’ve been in there a few times since then, but never carrying the 3″x5″ certificate.  I’ve been saving it for a time when I could have a luxurious, kid-free browse and maybe write a little downstairs in the cafe.  I went last night and bought a nice stack of books.  They renovated the downstairs, so it’s no longer the cozy, bookshelf filled coffeeshop that I covet for writing.  Oh, well.  More time in the shed. I had a great time browsing and bought a nice stack of new and used books. I’m reading the The Monsters of Templeton by Lauren Groff first, because it was time for some adult lit.  So far, it’s very engrossing.  I also bought Jon Sciezska’s Knucklehead, Born Confused by Tanua Desai Hidier, a new journal, Al Capone Does My Shirts by Gennifer Choldenko (which I’ve been meaning to read forever) and Flush by Carl Hiaasen (since I gave my other copy away).  It was so fun and indulgent.  Bookstores make good therapy.

What are you doing on the 10th?  Laini Taylor is speaking at the SCBWI WWA meeting on finishing a novel.  She is a delightful person and an excellent speaker, but if that’s not enough for you there will be a cookie contest as well.

Come!  Bring cookies!

