I dreamt about grizzly bears last night.  I’ve had a weird insomnia lately that leaves me with a night of wakefulness and vivid dreams.  Last night I was on a trail in the woods in what I already knew was bear country.  I don’t remember where I was going, but I knew that I had to get there.  Around every few curves there would just be a bear or two grazing, and I would tread softly past with my heart hammering against my ears.  I woke up feeling edgy and anxious.  It seemed like one of those dreams I was supposed to grasp some symbolism from, but I think I’m just too tired.  

So, the obligatory resolutions post.  I am a sucker for new year resolutions.  There’s so much hope in the prospect of change and success.  I always make the cliche’ ones with exercise, more veggies, blah blah blah.  I’m going to list three here that are directly related to my writing that I can review in a year.

  • Fix up my work-in-progress
  • Sell it.
  • Fix up work-in-progress #2.
  • Repeat.

Simple, right?  Let’s come back in 2010 and see how it went.

Let’s make a simple resolution just for January.  I resolve to get out of my writing funk and devote at least two hours every day just to revisions.  Starting today.  That should get me in ship shop shape for the SCBWI Winter Conference in New York.

Nathan Bransford asks you not to mention the SASE you’ve included in your equery, among other things.

Indy bookstores need to stay competitive.  How about the Seminary Co-op in Chicago? They’ve started a blog with the covers if books from their front table, thus titling their blog- The Front Table.  When you hover over a cover you get a mini-window of information, and you can click to buy the book online with Booksense (via Slog).  Neat-o!

Kirby Larson has a new blog!

A teenager in Chile is making flipbooks from animations she made in Flash (via Drawn.ca).  Wouldn’t that be a nifty promotional tool for an illustrator to use? I seem to be a little obsessed with illustrator promotions lately.  Oh, well.  I’m in an artist mood today.

Jen Stark is a sculptor.  One day she was brainstorming for some budget-friendly material, and started cutting up a stack of construction paper.  

jenst

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

You can watch her talk about her process in this video.

New blog feature:

Hook of the Week!

“In the late 17th century,  famed pirate Emer Morrisey was on the cusp of escaping pirate life with her one true love and unfathomable riches when she was slain and cursed with the dust of 100 dogs. Three hundred years later, after one hundred lives as a dog, she returned to a human body—with her memories intact. Now she’s a contemporary American teenager, and all she needs is a shovel and a ride to Jamaica.”

Intriguing, no?  That is from the soon-to-be-released The Dust of 100 Dogs by A.S. King (via the Flux blog).

