I just noticed my blog is officially one year old!  Woohoo!  Coincidentally, my blog shares a birthday with my dad, my husband’s dad, and Dr. Seuss.

bircup

This cannot go by uncelebrated.

LET”S HAVE A GIVEAWAY!

What can we give away?

Hmmm.

It’s a surprise (even for me)!

In honor of my blog’s first birthday, I will send a goody bag o’ fun to a randomly selected commenter (Now would be a good time to come out of lurkdom and comment, lest I get a complex that no-one-is-interested-enough-in-my-blog-to-even-get-free-presents-and-devote-the-blog-energy-to-other-pursuits.  It’s like blog birthday blackmail.).

What will be in the goody bag?  Err, candy!  Let’s start there.  You’ll get sweet stuff! And something handmade.  Yes, I’ll make you something!   Plus, probably some ink on pulp.  Who knows what I’ll throw in there?  I don’t.  But, it will be fun!

Comment on anything you like.  Got a book recommendation?  Bring it.  Did you really enjoy 30 Rock last week?  Say so!  Give me a suggestion for something to do in my last week of 33-ness.  I’ll pick a random lucky recipient next week when I’m 34.  Err, if someone leaves a comment.

Other stuff now!  Wordpress is trying to thwart my links, so they won’t be very pretty today.

Nancy Pearl talks to Mark Siegel of First Second Books here: http://www.seattlechannel.org/videos/video.asp?ID=3030902

Betsy Bird wants to make a list of the top 100 picture books!  Send her your suggestions!  You can find more info here: http://www.schoollibraryjournal.com/blog/1790000379/post/1950041395.html

The Golden Kite Awards have been announced! And, I’m excited to hear that some of my favorite blogging buddies will be covering the SCBWI LA conference!  YAY! Details here: http://cwim.blogspot.com/2009/03/scbwi-2009-golden-kite-winners.html

The SCBWI Western Washington conference is in two months!  If you’re planning on registering, the early bird discount ends on the 9th.  Why not save money?  You shouldn’t delay anyway, because I’m guessing we’ll sell out soon.

And here is the messy link for that: http://www.tinyurl.com/scbwiwwa

Alright, this link thing is bugging me.  It looks like they’re not even hyperlinks, so you’ll have to cut and paste.  Sorry about that.  Next time I promise to have a much more convenient post.

