Carrie wins! Congrats, Carrie!  Send me your address and I’ll get those lovely cards out to you Monday.

Here’s a  short video of Maurice Sendak on Spike Jonze’s adaptation of Where the Wild Things Are,  shown at ComicCon.

I finally read The Hunger Games this week.  Am I the last one in the world to read it? It feels like it.  I’m not generally crazy about futuristic, dystopian settings, so I kept resisting the recommendations.  Silly me. I couldn’t put it down.  She lost me a little bit with the mutts, but otherwise I was totally engaged in the story.

My writing weekend went very well.  My goals were a little lofty, so I didn’t actually finish the draft, but I’m much farther along and the rest is pretty much planned out. What a fantastic gift to have such a big block of time just to focus.  It was wonderful. My goal this week is 10,000 rewritten words, and I think I’m getting pretty close.

Publisher’s Weekly has their Fall Children’s Books on stands now.

PWK72009cover

That clever Martha Brockenbrough made a new blog for SCBWI Western Washington, The Chinook Update.

Sometimes I like to write with a different font in my working draft, just to mix things up and tweak my perspective a little bit.  I’ve been playing with the free fonts at Font Squirrel lately.

If you’re marketing some kid kit this year you should probably pick up the 2010 Children’s Writer’s & Illustrator’s Market guide. Even if you don’t need it for marketing, look at the list of fabulous features and articles.

Do you use iGoogle?  They have a new group of comics themes, like American Born Chinese and Robot Dreams.  Also, Ziggy.  You know, if you’re into that.

Justine Larbalestier addresses the controversial cover choice for her new novel that has everyone upset. Grrr. Whiskey tango foxtrot, Bloomsbury?!?

The Horn Book gets the blue ribbon for speedy printing. I received my copy in the mail on July 20th, complete with acceptance speech transcripts from ALA on July 12. Well done!

I’m going to bed now, so I can kayak tomorrow with both eyes open.

